Scientific Utilities

Hi all,

I’m the developer of a package called ubelt, which is a curated utility library I’ve been writing / maintaining for over 6 years now, and I’ve been thinking about its future and its relationship to the Python ecosystem. At some point I had aspirations of merging pieces of it into the standard library (and in a few cases I still do), but I’ve come to the conclusion that most of it should live as a small curated package. I’ve also been thinking that I’d like to cut out some of the dead weight to focus its scope, but I have to be careful not to break my users, so I was thinking that it’s next iteration would live under a new name.

My thought was that ubelt might be a good candidate to transform into a scikit, specifically scikit-utils or skutil. Utility libraries are difficult to scope, and there are a lot of utility libraries out there, but mine was built with a bias towards scientific applications (as evidenced by: argmax, argunique, argsort, SetDict). Things like the download and hash_data functions are things other scientific users of Python might benefit from having faster 1-function interfaces to.

I’ve written things like Cacher, CacheStampto have the most concise usage patterns possible. A concurrent.futures-based JobPool lets you use 1 variable to toggle between thread, process, and no-parallelism. I’ve extended pathlib with a Path that has copy, move, delete, and ensuredir methods. The IndexableWalker (perhaps better called Indexable), provides efficient iteration through nested List/Dict. The cmd function expresses subprocess.run / subprocess.call invocations with a tee option that subprocess doesn’t support. There are on the order of 100 functions / classes in the module, and many are useful. (see the ubelt README for a quantitative measure of this). I think a lot of these would be useful to generic python users, but maybe especially so for other scientists who use Python.