Query about scipy.signal development

Hello,

I recently came across Object-oriented design of digital filtering in scipy.signal article on Scipy wiki. This was proposed as one of the project ideas during GSOC21 for Scipy. However, I searched through the mailing list, and it seems that no one was selected for this project.

I am an Electrical Engineering undergraduate and have some knowledge in signal processing and would like to work on this project. I have also contributed to scipy before and I am familiar with the development environment and workflow.

I have a few doubts. I’ll be thankful if any maintainer can address them.

• Is any scipy developer currently working on this project?
  • Does Python Foundation provide an official internship or fellowship for students to work on these projects outside of GSOC?

Thank you,
Namami Shanker

Hi Namami,

Thanks for your interest. This discuss forum is for developers of packages in the scientific ecosystem to discuss common problems and shared solutions. We are also just getting started and haven’t announced the site, so not many people are watching yet. We may add project specific (e.g., the SciPy library) categories later, but that will depend on interest from developers of the specific projects.

For now, if you have questions for the SciPy developers, I would recommend contacting them directly via this mailing list: SciPy-Dev Info Page

I am not aware of any official internship or fellowship for students provided by the the Python Software Foundation (PSF). The PSF is focused on the Python language. So I suspect if they did offer internships or student fellowships, those would be for developing the language and not for contributing to packages in the scientific Python ecosystem. However, the SciPy developers will be able to point you to their contributing guide, will respond to questions on their email list, and will provide feedback on your pull requests to their project: Pull requests · scipy/scipy · GitHub